Judge the success of your email marketing efforts using average order value.
Set your reporting to display the total number of sales for the year. If you want to know the AOV for a specific time period, display the sales for that period. For example, if you want to see how the Christmas period affected your AOV, set your display period to be the month of December.
Set the period to be the same period as your total number of sales. If you previously pulled total sales for the year, do the same for revenue.
For example, if you generated $1000 in revenue and sold 10 products, your AOV would be $100.
Open your email platform, click on the email campaign you are interested in, click the Metrics tab in the campaign results and record the total sales generated by the email, and the total revenue associated with the email. Not all platforms have revenue or sales data available. You may need to set this up in Google Analytics or the analytics application you use.
For example, if your email campaign generated $5000 in revenue, and the total number of orders from the campaign was 500, you would divide 5000 by 500 and get an AOV of $10.