How would you market legacy B2B software?

Let’s say you have an (older) product with high brand recognition, but UX and feature set might not be as relevant or modern as newer competitors in the space.

• Where would you focus resources ($$)?
  • Would you invest more heavily in Product / Engineering improvements?
  • Do marketing playbooks stay the same regardless of product experience?
3 Likes

Hey @leah.howell welcome to the community.

Great question.

I believe Peep talks about this a lot on his how to win podast and its a common topic in a lot of Do you even resonate posts on his linkedin.

I have watched many of those and from what i can recall he is very strong on the idea that platforms do not win on features as most people end up building the same things and there is very little between most top competitors. So other things like positioning and brand story come more into play. So your brand recognition would come into play here.

As a product manager I would be very careful about pouring heavy resources into product / engineering improvements as the solution. That won’t get you new customers.

I would firstly watch and read up peeps linkedin posts and videos around messaging. Youll find a lot of stuff there that will help you with this question, its mostly around this topic.

Do marketing playbooks stay the same regardless of product experience?

Can you please help me understand this question a little more so I can better help you. This could vary a lot depending on context. Perhaps if you could give me a practical example or two?

Thank you for the response. I follow Peep and Wynter podcasts, but I assumed brand positioning and story would only go so far unless the products are at least pretty close to the same in terms of features and UX.
But what if they’re not? What if product A is actually less superior than B and offers less? Does it matter?